Page 6 - Driscoll Health System Annual Report 2020
P. 6

Driscoll’s NICU:

                Reaching Level IV – and staying there

                Among those involved in the redesignation of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit as a Level IV NICU were Stephen Almond,
                MD, Pediatric Surgeon (from left); Trish Carr, PhD, RNC-NIC, NEA-BC, Associate Chief Nursing Officer; Eric Hamon,
                President and CEO of Driscoll Health System; Miguel DeLeon, MD, Neonatologist; Euming Chong, MD, Neonatologist and
                NICU Medical Director; and Chris Joyal, BSN, RN, CPN, NICU Director.

                It was announced in early May 2020 that the Neonatal    BSN, RN, CPN, Director of the Neonatal Intensive Care
                Intensive Care Unit (NICU) at Driscoll Children’s Hospital   Unit at Driscoll Children’s Hospital.
                was redesignated a Level IV NICU, the highest level of
                care available for premature and critically-ill newborns,   According to Joyal, it is the teamwork of the dedicated
                by the Texas Department of State Health Services        NICU staff that holds everything together.
                (DSHS). It had been the first NICU in South Texas to    There are 232 Designated Neonatal Facilities in Texas.
                receive the Level IV state designation, in 2017, and    Driscoll is one of 21 with the Level IV designation, and
                remains the only one in our region.                     the only one in South Texas. Driscoll Children’s Hospital
                                                                        serves an area of South Texas that covers 31 counties
                Redesignation must be reviewed every three years,
                with hospitals undergoing a rigorous process in order   and 33,000 square miles, a larger service area than any
                to maintain the distinction of being a Level IV facility.   other Level IV NICU in Texas.
                This involved a site visit conducted by the Texas EMS   “We are pleased that our Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
                Trauma & Acute Care Foundation (TETAF) in November      received the Level IV recertification from the Texas
                2019.                                                   Department of State Health Services. At Driscoll, we

                “It’s a long process, with much give-and-take as the site   are proud to offer the highest level of care for the most
                conductors and hospital staff work together to ensure   fragile neonates in South Texas,” said Eric Hamon,
                the highest standards are maintained,” said Chris Joyal,   President and CEO of Driscoll Health System.

      3   STRIVING FOR EXCELLENCE                                                                   ANNUAL REPORT 2020
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11